West Coast

Christian Writers



October 18 – 20, 2023

Roseville, California

Save up to $100 when you register during our Flash Sale, May 1 – 5!


Our recommended resources are our WCCW leadership team’s top picks.


Guideposts Writers Workshop
Enter to win a spot in the Guideposts Writers Workshop, and learn everything they know about inspirational storytelling.
The Carol Awards
ACFW’s recognition for the best Christian fiction published by traditional publishing houses in the previous calendar year. Beginning with the 2015 Carol Awards program, certain independently published Christian fiction will be eligible.

Cascade Writing Contest
The Cascade Writing Contest is for both published and unpublished writers and includes a number of categories and genres. The purpose of the contest is to reward excellent writing and encourage both seasoned and emerging writers as well as provide a notable achievement for a writer’s bio.

Catholic Press Book Awards
Both CPA members and non-members may enter the CPA Book Awards. An eligible entrant will be an author of a book or the publishing company.
Christian Book Awards
The Christian Book Awards are among the most prestigious awards in the religious publishing industry, as well as the oldest. Formerly the Gold Medallion Book Awards, the Christian Book Awards have been awarded to Christian authors since 1978. Given out by the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA), the awards honor excellence in content, literary quality, design, and significance of contribution in six categories, including Bibles, Fiction, Children, Inspiration, Bible Reference, and Non-Fiction.

Christy Awards
Every year publishers are invited to submit novels written from a Christian worldview and copyrighted in the year preceding the awards. To be eligible, you must submit a full-length work of fiction, including a novella published as a freestanding entity.

Genesis Contest
The ACFW Genesis Contest is for unpublished Christian fiction writers. With ten categories to enter, Genesis provides the opportunity for unbiased feedback on writers’ work by published authors and experienced judges, and the chance for finalists to have their work read by Christian publishing house editors and literary agents. Any author whose work has not been previously published in novella or book-length fiction (in ANY print or online form) is eligible to enter Genesis.

The Goldie Awards
West Coast Christian Writers Conference hosts an annual writing contest for attendees, with a variety of genres and forms.
The Next Generation Indie Book Awards
The largest non-profit book awards program for indie authors and publishers. The Next Generation Indie Book Awards was established to recognize and honor the most exceptional independently published books in over 70 different categories, for the year, and is presented by Independent Book Publishing Professionals Group (www.IBPPG.com) in cooperation with Marilyn Allen of Allen O’Shea Literary Agency.


Writers Conferences

Festival of Faith & Writing
(held every other year)

The Festival began in the English department at Calvin University in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Hospitality is at the core of this effort to convene conversations between people from the many diverse communities made and served by religious writing. In all its activities, the FFW endeavors to create spaces wherein people from many faith traditions are welcomed warmly, listened to with respect and generosity, and inspired to deeper engagement with the common good.

Northwest Christian Writers Conference

Northwestern Christian Writers Conference engages the hearts and minds of writers who are Christians. “We celebrate and cultivate Christian writers whose work is inspirational and accessible, artful and nuanced.”

Oregon Christian Writers Conference (OCW)
OCW is a community of writers, amateur and professional, who are Christians. “We strive for faith and excellence in writing.”

West Coast Christian Writers Conference (WCCW)

West Coast Christian Writers (WCCW), based in the greater San Francisco Bay Area, aims to equip and encourage writers of all levels in the craft and business of writing for publication through conferences offering quality instruction, industry updates, community, and personal inspiration . We host an in-personal and an online conference every year, plus monthly mini-masterclasses. “To join our fun and friendly community of Christian writers, sign up for our monthly newsletter.”



Writing at the Red House

Nestled into the El Dorado National Forest on 32 acres of trees and trails, the Red House Writing Retreat, hosted by Kathi Lipp, is just the place to get away from distraction and let you focus on the writer God placed inside of you. “We are professional writers who have facilitated numerous getaways, so we know what it takes to have a successful writers retreat, and it’s all included. Just bring your writing project and yoga pants. We’ll take care of the rest.”

Practical Resources & How-tos

Daily Greatness Planner (great business tools)
Jane Friedman’s publishing guide (download the PDF)
Everything Memoir Bookstore (specializing in memoir)
West Coast Christian Writers (WCCW) Bookstore (featuring books on writing, and books by WCCW faculty and leadership)
Write Weekly Planner (a simple, classic planner on gorgeous paper)


Between the Lines (Books & Such Literary Agency)
Jane Friedman (industry expert)
Janet Reid (literary agent)
Rachelle Gardner (literary agent)
Steve Laube (literary agent)


The Accidental Creative (Todd Henry)
The Professional Writers (Laura Christianson)
Writing at the Red House (Kathi Lipp)


Everything Memoir (tips & help for people working on a memoir or personal story)
The Hot Sheet (by Jane Friedman, an expert on the publishing industry)
Tips & Tools (by Ginny L. Yttrup, writing tips and recommended tools for writers)

2023 Conference

October 18 – 20, 2023


Writers on the Move


“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”  Joshua 1:9